Where is all this going?

Dear friends and readers,

You may have noticed that this website has not been following its dedicated course over the past few weeks.  It’s called “Meet the Bishnoi” and yet where is anything related the Bishnoi people of the Thar desert, Rajasthan, India?

I’m here to tell you not to worry.  In McLeod Ganj, I made a pledge that I would write about the my experiences with Tibetans and, being a stickler for promises, refused to go back on my word.

Favourite animal in Jaipur: Chipmunks

My online work has also fallen behind schedule because there’s been lots going on in the real world too here in Jaipur.  I’ve been busily making plans for the desert and the time when I do meet the Bishnois.

It turned out, not so surprisingly, that my primitive use of Hindi would not be sufficient to gain a deep understanding of the Thar desert world.  I have still be plugging away with my ‘Teach Yourself’ book but have had to come up with some other solutions too.  The biggest change to the original plan is that, instead of staying with one family for the whole three months, I’ll be staying with a few, some of whom have good English speakers amongst them.  Also, with the help of my friends at the internet cafe, I’ve made an introductory A4 page in Hindi explaining who I am, why I’m there and what I would like to know.  Hopefully it’ll help me out of tricky situations and bridge a little bit of the communication gap.

Fortunately Mr Harsh Vardhan, my guide and mentor, has given me contact details for experts in desert conservation, Bishnoism, zoology and poaching prevention so I’ve written to all seeking interviews.  It will be wonderful if I get to meet them and I’m hoping that I have some great questions ready.  The structure has been guided by my Project Plan, a document that I’ve put together to give me clear aims, objectives and timescales to work to.  It’s also helped me identify some key themes for my research, some of which are listed below, so look out for articles on these themes soon.

Proposed research themes:
  • Availability of food in the Thar desert
  • Bishnoi religion and the divinity of nature
  • Developing tourism in a more positive manner
  • Gazelle and Black Buck populations
  • Khejri tree mortality
  • The role of women in Bishnoism

Masses of dirty plastic waste clogs up one entrance to the lake as treated water mixes with raw sewerage. Tom & James have their work cut out for them!

This week Tom and James successfully began their project helping to clean up the Mansagar lake in Jaipur.  In between three week home-stays with Bishnoi families, I’ll be spending a week with them at their hotel.  The deal rests on the grounds that I help out with their placement provider, JMRPL.  As a result I’ve learned about what the boys are doing and will assist them in their office work.  Yep, that means I’m back in the grasps of good old Excel spreadsheets.

Alongside project plans, issues surrounding Hindi, articles about Tibet, interview planning and Mansagar lake, we’ve also been exploring Jaipur city a little and experiencing our first Diwali.  I’ve never seen fireworks like it.  The difference between here and England, where Health and Safety bods stamp all over firework production, is phenomenal.

Please excuse me because I appear to have rambled on.  The final thing to tell you is that we’re leaving for the desert tomorrow.  A group of five of us are setting off to explore the desert ecology and also to get our first introductions with the Bishnoi community.  When the others return to Jaipur, they’ll leave me with my first Bishnoi family and this project will finally be set in full motion.  I’m not sure about internet connectivity for the next few weeks but if there isn’t plenty to write about on my return I’m definitely not cut out for this.

Ta ta for now everyone.  All the best to you all and hope that you will pop here again soon to read the next edition.

Best wishes from TorJ x

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vishal Bishnoi on November 18, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Hi,

    Good to know that finally world is trying to figure out a sustainable way of living, and i feel immensely proud to be a part of the community who can show the world that it really isn’t that big deal to live in peace and harmony with nature.

    I respect your efforts to generate environment awareness as well as awareness about my community. If there is any way i can be of any assistance please do let me know. for more information and contacts you can contact our online community at Bishnoi_Community@yahoogroups.com . I’m sure more people would be willing to help and assist you in which ever way possible for them.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Vishal Bishnoi
    +91-9811779738

    Reply

  2. yeah, i’m kind of drawing a blank on this question in general. not too many easy walkoffs/walkups in the desert for easily setting a TR.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

