Introduction

A Bishnoi Wife

All being well, in a few short weeks time I will wake up to find myself living with a tribe of people called the Bishnoi, in the Thar desert, India.  It will be at least a 3 month project and I’m there to tentatively try to understand Bishnoi culture and values by getting involved in daily life; be that milking buffalo, collecting seeds or fetching water.  The Bishnoi centre many of their beliefs around care for the environment.  They are a gentle people who go to great lengths to encourage animal and plant life, especially in resisting poaching and tree felling.

The Bishnoi people are not internationally well-known but have done astounding things to preserve the natural world around them since well before Shakespeare walked the streets of England.  Whilst living with a Bishnoi family, my goal will be to take on the role of a gentle and open-minded pupil, then to use the experience to encourage understanding and thoughtfulness elsewhere.

Over the next few months this blog will be populated with stories, info, links and discoveries.  Use the ‘SUBSCRIBE’ tab in the top right hand corner of this page to make sure you are kept up to date when there are new articles to read.  Don’t miss the adventure!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ellie on October 4, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Hi my beautiful big little sis!! 🙂

    You’ll have the most amazing time, I know you’ll make the most of every oppertunity sent your way (and there will be many!)

    Not goodbye, just see you soon!

    So much love always! xxxxxxxxxxx
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

  2. Hey Tor!

    I hope our paths will cross again. It must be amazing this experience in India!

    Now I am living in Guadalajara, Mexico for a year, earning some money… and at the end of next summer I want to start a new trip to Peru and southamerica again. After that I hope one day I can make it to take a trip to Asia. See you soon!

    Jordi

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mandy & Colin on December 9, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Hi Tor, hope your enjoying your time there,you are in our prayers daily. make sure you sort the boys out when you see them!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Hanna Bys on March 6, 2011 at 8:39 am

    I just discovered your blog and I will follow it with great interest. I’m French and I would like to stay in a Bishnoi village (part of a PhD in anthropology).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

